Book Review: In A Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware

To be honest, I bought In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware on a whim. It was one of those books that had been sitting on my TBR list for awhile and I saw a good deal on Book Outlet, so I bought it. I finally picked it up about a month or so ago when I was going through a mystery-esque phase.

I can’t believe that I did not pick this one up sooner!

dark-wood

Synopsis: Leonora ‘Nora’ hasn’t seen Clare, her old best friend for ten years. Until she gets an invitation to Clare’s hen weekend in a house in the woods. Nora reluctantly decides to go. The weekend starts out find. Until something terrible goes wrong and long kept secrets can no longer stay hidden in the dark.

Ruth Ware’s writing was beautiful with hints of darkness here and there. I really enjoyed the setup of the book that it started out right after the big ‘twist’ though you don’t know it yet until you get towards the end. The book is kind of Nora starting at the beginning of the weekend and going through the point where the book starts.There aren’t a lot of twists and turns, necessarily, but there are so many hints about who the villain could be and what is really going on in some of the character’s minds. Yet the big twist was definitely not something that I was expecting. I was definitely not on the right track about what was really going on. It kept me on my toes which is something that makes a mystery/ suspense book that much more enjoyable.

I know that a lot of people said that this book is trying too hard to be similar to Gillian Flynn’s books because of the two different times written in different chapters yet it’s still the plot that is different.And Ware’s alternating time chapters didn’t happen every other chapter and it was still from Nora’s perspective. And like any good suspense/ mystery novel, the big twist was unexpected.

With the way Nora is written, it was hard to get a good sense of who she is. Thankfully, it wasn’t to the point where I couldn’t enjoy her as a character and see the story unfold through her eyes. There is the small thing of her still being haunted by what a breakup that happened with, I believe, her first love. I definitely thought that was weird and for the life I could not figure out why. But that is probably the only thing that I didn’t like.

It was really well written and kept me on my toes, what more can I ask for?

What did you think of this book?


Reading Challenge Prompts Satisfied:

PopSugar Reading Challenge 2017: A Book Set in the Wilderness

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

dark wood.jpeg

5 thoughts on “Book Review: In A Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware

  1. Love your review! I haven’t read anything by Gillian Flynn, but I have read The Woman in Cabin 10 and absolutely loved it! I picked this book up a few months back at a really great price, and am even more eager to pick it up!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

