Bookish Thought: Current Event Books to Read

bookishthought_2

When it comes to politics, I tend lean more towards liberal (though some things still leave me in the middle somewhere). I think a big part of that comes from my constant want to help people (especially it when it comes to health and education). I also always want to frustratedly shout ‘Why Can’t Everyone Just Be Nice to Each Other?!’ I mean, is it really that hard? We learned these things in kindergarten for goodness sakes!

Anyways. In light of the start of the Trump Administration and the changes he’s already made, some through executive orders he signed, I started to worry more than I already was. And so I wondered what non-fiction books I can read to better arm my mind for the next four years. I searched for lists that I knew would already be made and found the following books:

*Now I want to make sure to note that these books are ones that I want to read and so there won’t be a lot that are in favor of the current presidential administration. Titles link to Goodreads.

This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate by Naomi Klein

The Quest: Energy, Security, and the Remaking of the Modern World by Daniel Yergin

The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness by Michelle Alexander

Rich People Things by Chris Lehmann

The United States of Fear by Tom Engelhardt

It Can’t Happen Here by Sinclair Lewis

Things that Can and Cannot Be Said: Essays and Conversations by Arundhati Roy

What We Do Now: Standing Up For Your Values in Trump’s America by Various

Honoraries:

In the Country We Love: My Family Divided by Diane Guerrero

Infomocracy by Malka Ann Older (fiction)

Also, in light of Kelly Conway’s recent tweet of ‘alternative facts’, the new administration scrubbing everything climate change from the White House website with the EPA reportedly ordered to do the same, and the government’s gag order regarding social media (though this might be to diminish confusion during transition time), it might be a good idea to reread/ read books like 1984 by George Orwell, Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury, and A Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. Though reading these classic dystopia novels just might make things more depressing …

I promise that I won’t often talk about politics because I know that everyone has their own (as we should) beliefs, thoughts, ideas, etc. and there is enough of politics being reported on in the news anyways. But I hope that I get to read at least one of the above books I listed so that I can better understand the world I currently and/or may end up living in sometime in the next four years.


Related Links:

The Muse: 9 Must-Read Current Event Books for People Who Don’t Have Time to Follow the News

Lit Hub: 75 BOOKS FOR THE NEXT FOUR YEARS

Slate: Make America Gagged Again

Fortune: Trump Administration Puts Gag Order on Several Government Agencies

Fortune: ‘1984’ Is Back on the Best Seller List After Kellyanne Conway’s ‘Alternative Facts’ Comment

7 thoughts on “Bookish Thought: Current Event Books to Read

  1. […] Bookish Thought: Current Event Books to Read by Nicole at Sorry, I’m Booked. I’d actually been working on my own version of this (which will go up eventually) when Nicole published hers. And it’s perfect! I added a lot of books to my TBR. If you’re concerned about the state of current events (i.e. politics), this is a great post to check out. […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

