Book Review: The Gifts of Imperfection by Brene Brown

I recieved The Gifts of Imperfection: Let Go of Who You Think You’re Supposed to Be and Embrace Who You Are by Brené Brown as a christmas gift a couple years ago from my sister. She got it for me because she wanted me to know that I am exactly who I should be and I should stop worrying about what everyone else thinks and to stop worrying that I’m not in a similar situation as others in my age group. I still have her loving post-it note stuck inside the front cover.

gifts-of-imperfection

Even though the book is just under 200 pages, it still took me a little over a week to finish reading it. I did only read it at night before bed, but it was still slow going at times and I think that had to with me having already realized a lot of what she was talking about in the last year or so.

With that being said, I found Brene Brown and her wonderful writing captured the insights concisely and in a way that was easy to understand; it helped that her writing was in no way clinical or textbook-y. By the end of the book I was happy to have read it and have things I knew be reaffirmed in a multitude of ways.

“Here’s what is truly at the heart of wholeheartedness: Worthy now, not if, not when, we’re worthy of love and belonging now. Right this minute. As is.”

Everything written in this book is all about living a wholehearted life which means being yourself as is; it means being authentic and vulnerable and able to experience all emotions. It means knowing that no matter what you do or don’t do in a day or month or year, you still believe and say that you are enough. You are worthy of love. You accept that you have imperfections, but in no way does that hinder your worthiness, braveness or belonging.

“Authenticity is a collection of choices that we have to make every day. It’s about the choice to show up and be real. The choice to be honest. The choice to let our true selves be seen.”

I also loved everything she had to say about perfectionism – things I already knew, but always good to hear every now and then:

“Perfectionism is a self destructive and addictive belief system that fuels this primary thought: If I look perfect, and do everything perfectly, I can avoid or minimize the painful feelings of shame, judgment, and blame.”

She does go on to say that there is such a thing as healthy striving which has a distinct difference from perfectionism.

“Healthy striving is self-focused: “How can I improve?” Perfectionism is other-focused: “What will they think?”

There are so many great insights and quotes throughout this book. She touches on so many important aspects, including shame and vulnerability, two that I would never have thought would be important. At the end of the day it’s all about being yourself, authentic, and knowing that you are worthy no matter what.

“Worthiness doesn’t have prerequisites.”


Reading Challenge Prompts Satisfied:

Mount TBR Reading Challenge 2017

Sorry, I’m Booked Reading Challenge 2017: Read a self-help book or memoir

Leave a Reply

