Bookish Thought: The Effects of Being a Book Blogger

Bookish Thought is a type of discussion post where I talk about anything book related and of course leave it open for you all to respond :)

It’s been awhile since I’ve done a Bookish Thought post and it has been part idea slump and part busy real life. I meant to finish this and post it yesterday on Wednesday (the usual day), but well things got the better of me. I’ve actually been sucked into reading a lot these last couple weeks or so, which probably why I haven’t been able to get other posts published because I more than likely cozied up somewhere reading.

This great Blogging Community Highlights Post from Adventures of a Bibliophile shared, among other great posts, A Frolic Through Fiction’s post that discuses whether being a book reviewer can ruin overall enjoyment of reading. Considering that I may be going through this situation, I figured it would be a great idea and time to discuss what I’ve noticed about my reading habits and posting habits.

Goodreads Has Become My Facebook (or other social media that sucks my time away)

I no longer troll and scroll through Facebook to see what other people are doing with their lives [aka wasting time and most likely procrastinating]. My biggest time sucker is now Goodreads. I now find myself scrolling and clicking to see what others are reading, what the reviews are for certain books I’m thinking about. I’m constantly looking through the Giveaways section to find listings that I want to enter.

Instead of the likes and comments I give on Facebook and/or other social media, I’m doing that on Goodreads. Instead of sharing ridiculous or sometimes great photos or status updates, I’m looking to add any and every book I might be even remotely interested in to my Goodreads TBR list (which is massive!).

Is this a bad thing? I have no idea. It does suck a lot of time out, but at least it’s with the purpose of finding something that will help my brain.

Blogging Tends to Feel Like a Second Job

Which makes sense since blogging, at least for me, takes time, effort, and in my experience great time management skills. And sometimes I just want to call in sick because like my actual job, I sometimes feel overwhelmed or I didn’t get enough sleep, etc. and just don’t want to put in the time. Luckily, I don’t get paid to blog because then I keep a schedule I like and prefer and while I feel badly when I don’t post when I said I would, I don’t actually ‘lose’ anything as long as I get back on track quickly. The only thing about blogging feeling like a second job while I already work full time is that sometimes the fun gets sucked out a little.

My TBR List Will Always Feel (and look) Never-Ending

Everyone knows that saying ‘so many books, so little time right’? It seems that it’s one that will always be relevant to my reading habits and the books that I want to read. I mean, there are SO MANY books! There are the ones written decades ago that everyone should read at least once (according to various sources). There are the ones that were really popular a few years ago that you haven’t picked up yet. There are the random ones that you find while browsing online or in a bookstore. And then there are the ones that are new releases or debuts or yet to be released, but everyone is buzzing about.

I used to write down all the books that I wanted to read on a lined piece of paper. Now? I have the invention of Goodreads where with just one click I can add a book to my TBR list. Because I don’t want to forget any book, no matter how small of an interest, I have about 600 books on my TBR list. Insane! I obviously don’t even remember probably a third of what I added.

I guess it’s time to hit the books.

I Have Another Community

Well, really I would like to say that I have two additional communities that I feel a part of: blogging and the book blogging communities, but I find myself more connected to the book blogosphere. Which is amazing! You’re all amazing! Not once did I think that I would find like minded readers, readers who saw things differently, etc. and become connected to them. Everyone is so supportive of each other and love reading other book blogger’s posts, reviews, and other thoughts. I’m sure that there are other amazing sub-blogging communities out there, but I’m definitely being biased when I say you can’t really beat the book community :)

Sometimes the Stress and Pressure is Real

I always feel some kind of stress and pressure to write good posts, especially when it comes to book reviews. There’s also this pressure (that I definitely put all on myself) to read a ton of books and have a lot of back log of reviews to post. And that’s where the pleasure and fun of reading sometimes gets dimmed. It’s hard too, because the pressure comes from myself and not from anything or anyone externally. A little related to the second job one, there’s also the stress of of sticking to the timeline of when I post certain posts – which is also entirely on me.

Books Have Become My Heroin

Okay, one, I don’t know if this is a great comparison, but I hope it gets the whole ‘addiction’ thing across. I have to say though that at least this addiction is far better for me than almost any other addiction. The only drawback is that does sometimes get in the way of me doing more active things, but so far I’m okay with the trade.

I’ve been a reader for as long as I can remember, but I don’t remember absolutely falling in love with reading whatever I wanted until about seventh grade when my English/ Literature Teacher gave us total freedom in what we can read as long as we read. She’s also the teacher that instilled the rule of giving a book a chance until page 30: if I can’t make it to page 30, then it’s probably not a book for me. So far, this rule has not let me down too many times.

Once college came around, though, my leisure reading pretty much became not existent. I read some great books here and there, but it wasn’t until I moved back home and suddenly found myself with an hour for lunch to myself with not much to do, I started reading every lunch hour. And then I started this blog and suddenly I was seeing reviews and other discussions on blogs and Goodreads (and now Instagram) on various books – many of which I would have not discovered otherwise.


So, for now these are the effects of being a book blogger. I’m sure there are several other ones … if there’s one that you experience or know about that I didn’t mention, let me know! I would love to know what’s going on out in the book blogging community!

No matter what, I will always love reading and the books that foster that love :)

6 thoughts on “Bookish Thought: The Effects of Being a Book Blogger

  1. Love this post! I’m glad you enjoyed Ashleigh’s post – I loved that one, too! I completely agree that the book blogging community is the best (I don’t care if I’m biased). And I definitely put pressure on myself when it comes to reading/blogging, and that’s something I’m working on. Like you said, it’s nothing external, but it’s definitely there. (And blogging is definitely a second job. We just need to find someone to pay us for it haha)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post! I feel you on so many of these points…I don’t mind it feeling like a job though, even if I don’t get paid money, I get paid in satisfaction and enjoyment. :) Pretty sure that’s why we call keep blogging, right? :D

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ooh that’s a really good point! I don’t mind getting paid either, I think it’s more the internal pressure I put on myself from it feeling like a job … but I’m definitely going to think more your way! :)

      Like

  3. You’re right. Because of my neverending tbr, reading is sometimes overwhelming. I think it’s last year that I started feeling so. But I’ve kinda slowed down on adding and buying books, I hope that sticks.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve gotten better about not buying so many books and borrowing more often. I still need to work on the whole adding to my TBR thing :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

