Audiobook Review: Yes Please by Amy Poehler

I forgot how much I love Amy Poehler until I started listening to her audiobook, Yes Please. I wish I could say that I fell in love with her from her time on SNL, but I first knew her, really, from the movie Baby Mama (I’m pretty sure this was the first). I loved her even more when I found out she’s the mom in Mean Girls (I always forget) and even more when I got hooked on the great show that is Parks and Recreation.

And with this book, Amy Poehler is cemented as an awesome woman who has so much to give whether it’s through her acting or through her work with Worldwide Orphans Foundation or her own Amy’s Smart Girls.

yes-please

“You do it because the doing of it is the thing. The doing is the thing. The talking and worrying and thinking is not the thing.”

This is something that I love about reading/ listening to celebrity memoirs because it really gives you an insight look into their lives from their perspective. Most have a multitude of interesting, funny, and inspiring stories about their experiences that led to their success as an actor/actress.

“I think we should stop asking people in their twenties what they “want to do” and start asking them what they don’t want to do.”

And the stories don’t end there. Because I’ve seen a lot of things that Amy Poehler is in, it was fun to hear about some of her stories from behind the scenes on projects she’s worked on. It was also very inspiring to hear about she worked through major changes, like suddenly finding herself single, and how she strived to be a better person and to find her whole happiness again.

“The only way we will survive is by being kind. The only way we can get by in this world is through the help we receive from others. No one can do it alone, no matter how great the machines are.”

I was blown away about how grounded she is. While I found plenty of serious and amazing pieces of wisdom that she imparted on her readers, she also gave plenty of humorous stories and other pieces of advice. This book was well rounded and balanced in being serious, but also playful and funny at intervals. It also helped that she had several of her fellow actors and actresses and other show business friends be on the audio with her – that was a thrilling surprise.

“Please don’t drive drunk, okay? Seriously. It’s so fucked up. But by all means, walk drunk. That looks hilarious. Everyone loves to watch someone act like they are trying to make it to safety during a hurricane.”

I don’t remember a lot of the quotes, especially the funny ones, but the above one is a small example and I can just imagine her speaking it. I also had to rely on Goodreads for quotes and I couldn’t find a lot of the fun advice pieces. While those were to fun to be told by Amy herself in the audiobook, I was just as grateful to be hearing tell me things that I already knew, but still needed to hear.

“You can only move if you are actually in the moment. You have to be where you are to get where you need to go.”

Like many advice books and probably scores of other celebrities, living in the moment, being grateful for where you are and what you have, and focusing on what you’re currently doing are all very important. I know these things, but it’s always so easy to forget and I’m really glad I listened to Amy Poehler’s Yes Please when I did.

She also has a lovely voice that I could listen to all day.

Did you ever read/ listen to Amy Poehler’s memoir?


Reading Challenge Prompts Satisfied

PopSugar Reading Challenge 2017: A Book Written by Someone I Admire

Leave a Reply

