Book(s) Review: The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

I keep learning that I shouldn’t read other reader’s reviews right before I’m going to read that particular book. Because then I go in with too many varying opinions and expectations. In this case it was for The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo.

I think I read the first book back in the summer of 2013 right after I graduated college. That was the summer where I really dove back into leisure reading; I definitely used it as an escape of sorts I think.

Anyways.

I remember really enjoying the first book, so when I discovered a discount online bookstore, I bought the whole trilogy. And then they sat on my shelf for almost a year. I started to think that maybe the trilogy wasn’t worth finishing.

grisha

I proved myself wrong by reading the second and third book in three days. 

I completely devoured them. However, that doesn’t mean that I loved every single aspect, because there were a few things that I didn’t care for.

But let’s start with what I did like.

Probably the biggest thing is the Bardugo’s writing. Her writing is great! I loved how she weaved the descriptions of people and places together adding to her great world building. However, when it came to writing up some of the action scenes, particularly in parts of Siege and Storm, things fell flat for me. There didn’t seem to be enough build up or something. Things got better as the second book processed, but then for a big chunk of the third book, things seemed a little too slow. But I guess it can’t be action all the time. Overall, I thought the writing was spot on for all three books.

I though Bardugo did a pretty good job with the characters as well. My like for Alina kind of went up and down. I absolutely loved Nikolai and some of his cohorts. And Mal – Mal was another up and down character for me. I rooted for him and Alina from the start, but what bugged me is that they kind of had the same line of thinking and motivations in some ways, yet they never talked to each other about it and all that relationship drama could have been avoided. I get that in reality, it may have played out the same way, but in this kind of book I just don’t know that it was really that necessary to have.

Another thing that kind of bugged me is that for all the talk of Alina having to be the Darkling’s equal, she was never set up to be that. The Darkling seemed to always be one step, even a really small one, ahead of her. Or he was just way more clever. Maybe it was supposed to make the final battle a little more interesting – I don’t know.

Overall, I did like the way it ended even if it was kind of bittersweet for Alina.

Leigh Bardugo created an amazing world with great characters in this trilogy and it was quite the read! Though I’m glad that I waited until I had all three books.

A short and sweet review … what did you think of The Grisha Trilogy?


2017 Reading Challenge Prompts Satisfied:

Sorry, I’m Booked Reading Challenge 2017: Fantasy

PopSugar Reading Challenge 2017: A Book That’s Been On My TBR Way Too Long

 

5 thoughts on “Book(s) Review: The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

  1. I’ve not read this trilogy yet. I tried Six of Crows, which I couldn’t get into, mostly due because I wasn’t in the reading mood, so I’ll possibly be trying it again sometime. Though your review has reminded me that perhaps I should attempt this one first!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve read reviews for both series where people love it or they didn’t. I also read a lot of reviews where people loved the trilogy, but didn’t like the duology and vice versa. Happy Reading! :)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

