Top Ten Tuesday: Unique Books I’ve Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish

This week’s prompt is all about unique books! I decided to go the route of books that I’ve read that were unique – at least to me. I’ll probably be listing books that have unique plots, but I’ll also try to list books that have other unique parts about them that I liked.

The Books

The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey

snow child

This book is inspired/ a fairy tale retelling, but I loved that it was a retelling of a Russian folk tale rather than one already taken over by Disney. Paired with a little history in the 1920’s wild of Alaska and you have a unique read.

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline

A1bCf-Xhe4L

Dystopia is not unique to me anymore, but this one rife with great pop culture references and the plot made up for it and gave it a unique spot in the genre.

Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer

17934530

I really liked the direction that he took to make this a science fiction. Plus his writing was great!

Fight Club by Chuck 

fight club

I’m not sure I know how to describe the uniqueness of this book for me. It just is. And I love it.

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

dark-matter

This book was such a great read! It takes another interesting science fiction type route that I thought worked really well.

Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh

ivory bone

Simply because this took place during a time when mammoths were still alive. It was refreshing. Plus she wrote it second person – our main character was telling the story to another main character.

The Rook by Daniel O’Malley

13528319

While the paranormal/ supernatural world living side by side our reality is not new, I thought the plot and the characters were great. It’s an interesting mix of X-Men and the Bourne Identity with a little Buffy thrown in. All things that create something unique for me.

The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

13330943

Not only did I find this book to be beautifully written, but I definitely think the way it was written, the plot, and how everything transpired made it unique for me.

Spark by John Twelve Hawks

Unknown

A different take on where our future may be going paired with a very unique main character.

House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski 

71Vmj-9DZYL

This book is more weird and creepy, but the way it’s written and how it’s a story within a story within a story definitely allows it to make this list!


So those are my unique reads for this week! It’s interesting to think about what really makes a book unique for a reader since I can only assume that it may be different for each reader.

Have you read any of these? Any of these unique to you too?

19 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Unique Books I’ve Read

  1. I have heard amazing things about Ready Player One, but the fact that it was Dystopian made it blend into the background. But I am glad to hear it has unique aspects to it, defs adding it to my TBR!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes! I really enjoyed it and a big part was because of the pop culture references. You get a feel for the dystopian world, but the setting takes place while the character is in the virtual world. Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I almost included the Night Circus. That one was unique to me because it felt like a magical realism story when it’s really a fantasy and I’ve never before encountered a story like that.
    And yes to House of Leaves. I haven’t read it, but from what I’ve heard, it sounds like a unique read.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

