Top Ten Tuesday: Things I Want More Of!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish

I’m back! I totally did not mean to go on a hiatus these last couple of weeks, but with moving, driving across three states, looking for a job etc, etc. I just couldn’t find the time! But I’m hoping that I can finally get back into the groove because I miss partaking in this community and writing up all the posts!

This week’s topic is all about the things that I want more of in a book, a wishlist of sorts. This will be a slightly harder topic to get ten things for since I sometimes spend so much time reading and devouring books, that I don’t always stop to think about what’s missing for me as a reader. Hopefully this prompt will help!

The Things

More Culture

By culture, I mean books that incorporate different cultures from around the world and using characters that would be from those cultures. While it is easier for me to read about a character that is from a culture of place that most resembles mine, but reading is supposed to help open my mind and after a while it can’t do that if I’m reading the seemingly same things book after book.

More Male Main Characters

Okay, so I know that there are a ton of books with male main characters, but they never seem to be ones that I gravitate towards or just never end up seeing or hearing about. While reading about or in a female POV is of course more relatable, but it would be nice to have that variety.

More Brainy-ness

I’ve read a good amount of books that have character who are really smart, but sometimes it’s written in a way where it’s a negative at first and then turns into a positive depending on the situation. Or it’s just written in a way that makes it seem that it’s still not a normal thing to encounter really intelligent people.

More Goofballs and Goofiness

Sometimes I only find a goofy or fun factor in light romances, but it would be nice to see more of it in other genres, especially if friendship is a strong theme.

More Friendship as a Main Theme/ Element 

I don’t know how many books I’ve read where romance happens between two characters that left me scratching my head. There are a few of these instances where I thought it would have been far more interesting to keep them as friends because some of these romances felt like convenient pairings because they’re both at ‘the right place at the right time’.

More Science Fiction that Contemplates Possible Futures

It’s possible that this has been prevalent in books for awhile, but I just haven’t read them. I’m also not just talking about the future of the US – I think it would be interesting to see what different authors think about where our future could possibly look like.

More Wittiness and Sarcasm

Just because it always makes things more fun.

Women, Particularly in their 20’s, Who ‘Find’ Themselves Without Romance

Being a female in my twenties, I tend to prefer to read about female characters also in their twenties. Since I also just made a huge life change and still trying to discover all about myself, etc, I tend to gravitate towards similar characters and plots. However, for once I would like to see all of this happen without a romance or at least without romance being a main influence.


I guess there are only eight! Any of these or similar ones find there way onto your list?

 

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Things I Want More Of!

  1. Ahhh I can relate to everything on this list! I feel like (especially in YA) there is always a female narrator/main character! It’s usually the female main character than their male sidekick/love interest. I love sarcasm in books, it makes them so much more entertaining, and the characters more likable (hint hint Jace from TMI! Have you read them before?). I’m a huge fan of Morgan Matson’s books because they’re not so unrealistic and literally focused on the boyfriend the entire book; so basically her books aren’t as stereotypical. Matson does a great job giving importance to friends and family.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Glad to know that I’m not alone in these things! I haven’t read TMI or any of Morgan Matson’s books. Yet. :) Thanks for sharing!

      Like

  2. This is such a great list!
    Now that you mentioned it, I can’t think of that many books with male main characters either… I’m all for more sarcasm and more goofiness – adds something extra to every story! Your last point was so on point – you don’t need to fall in love to find yourself and not enough books portray that…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. YES non NA erotica is also on my list of what I want to see more of. NA has a certain rep for a reason, and it’s so sad because so many of us are living in that zone. It would be nice to read more about just trying to live life as an adult without kids but out of high school.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

