Book Tag: Books to Read in Pairs

It’s time for another book tag! This one is similar to ‘if you like this, then read this’ type of deal, which I know is going to be a little harder than I expect. I have to pair anywhere from five to ten books/pairs together. But either way, thank you to the awesome Orangutan Librarian for tagging me to do this! Check out her own book tag post here.

I read a pretty good variety of genres and authors (or at least I think I do), so this should be a fun one to see what I can come up with.

The Circle by Dave Eggers and Spark by John Twelve Hawks

Okay, so this pairing might be a stretch, but I chose to put these two together because they both have strong technology elements, but the characters deal with it in different ways. I also think it would be interesting since The Circle is more passive to me while Spark is more action-thriller. Check out my reviews for The Circle and Spark here and here, respectively.

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee and The Help by Kathryn Stockett

It’s possible that these two are a little too similar with the subjects, but I think that there are enough differences to make them each unique, of course. One is a classic and the other was a great read. One is from one perspective and the other has three different perspectives. Check out my review of The Help here.

Dark Places by Gillian Flynn and In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware

Both of these writers have an amazing writing style – I think lyrical might be a good word. They’re both thrillers, but I think with a slight psychological part to it and both authors keep you guessing on what’s really happening until the end. Read my reviews for Dark Places and Dark, Dark Wood here and here, respectively.

The Wolf Road by Beth Lewis and Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman

Again, another weird pairing maybe. But besides the fact that both have the word ‘road’ in it, they both have strong elements of survival and going down a path that could and is paved with dark deeds. Both have strong female leads as well. Read my reviews for Wolf Road and Vengeance Road here and here, respectively.

Beard Science by Penny Reid and Mister O by Lauren Blakely

They have similar elements besides them both being romances. And really, how could you go wrong with two romances?


Alright, so there are my five pairs that I hope in some way makes sense. It was fun though to get myself thinking about all the similarities between books I’ve read. And now for those I tag:

Beth @ Reading Every Night

Birdie Bookworm

Sarah @ Between the Pages

Flavia the Bibliophile

What pairs would you make? Happy pairing!

9 thoughts on “Book Tag: Books to Read in Pairs

  1. Thanks so much for the tag! I’ve never seen this one before but I’m already trying to think of the books I’ll be pairing together! :D
    I haven’t read any of the ones on your list but I did enjoy reading your reasons as to why you paired them together. It helped give me a better idea of what this tag is all about.
    Again thanks for tagging me! :)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

