Top Ten Tuesday: Series Starters Recently Added to My TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the Broke and the Bookish

Happy Tuesday! We (hopefully all) survived Monday and with today comes the always fun weekly meme Top Ten Tuesday. This week’s prompt is all about the top books from any genre added to our TBR lists.

So, obviously, I did not choose one specific genre. Instead I chose what I guess I could call a type of book: book series, specifically the first book of a new series that I recently discovered. Some of these series starter books are new this year (2017) or they have been published for a awhile. I liked the idea of listing these books rather than just one genre because I tend to become intrigued by books across genres. Plus I’ve been a little wary of diving into series again, so I thought this might help show me what I have on my list and what I might get re-excited about.

The Series Starters

The Tiger’s Daughter (Their Bright Ascendency #1) by K. Arsenault Rivera

tigers daughter

A high fantasy about two female warriors who battle demons to save their land and kingdom.

Wicked Like a Wildfire (Hibiscus Daughter #1) by Lana Popović

wicked wildfire

Straight from Goodreads blurb: Fans of Holly Black and Leigh Bardugo will be bewitched by Lana Popovic’s debut YA fantasy novel about a bargain that binds the fates—and hearts—of twin sisters to a force larger than life.

The Hundredth Queen (The Hundredth Queen #1) by Emily R. King

hundredth queen

From Goodreads: In Emily R. King’s thrilling fantasy debut, an orphan girl blossoms into a warrior, summoning courage and confidence in her fearless quest to upend tradition, overthrow an empire, and reclaim her life as her own.

Song of the Current (Song of the Current #1) by Sarah Tolcser

song of current

From Goodreads: From debut author Sarah Tolcser comes an immersive and romantic fantasy set along the waterways of a magical world with a headstrong heroine determined to make her mark.

Traitor’s Blade (Greatcoats #1) by Sebastien de Castell

traitors blade

A good ole’ adventure high fantasy.

Heart-Shaped Hack (Kate and Ian #1) by Tracey Garvis-Graves

heart shaped hack

A Humor Contemporary Romance that involves hacking … I couldn’t resist.

The Traitor’s Kiss (Traitor’s Trilogy #1) by Erin Beaty

traitors kiss

From Goodreads: An obstinate girl who will not be married. A soldier desperate to prove himself. A kingdom on the brink of war.

The Clockwork Scarab (Stoker & Holmes #1) by Colleen Gleason

clockwork scarab

From Goodreads: Evaline Stoker and Mina Holmes never meant to get into the family business. But when you’re the sister of Bram and the niece of Sherlock, vampire hunting and mystery solving are in your blood. And when two society girls go missing, there’s no one more qualified to investigate.

The Girl in 6E (Deanna Madden #1) by A.R. Torre

girl in 6e

From Goodreads: What if you hid yourself away because all you could think of was killing? And what if one girl’s life depending on you venturing into society?

Enter a world of lies, thrills, fears, and all desires, in this original thriller from A. R. Torre.

The Gunslinger (The Dark Tower #1) by Stephen King

29430673

From Goodreads: A #1 national bestseller, The Gunslinger introduces readers to one of Stephen King’s most powerful creations, Roland of Gilead: The Last Gunslinger. He is a haunting figure, a loner on a spellbinding journey into good and evil. In his desolate world, which mirrors our own in frightening ways, Roland tracks The Man in Black, encounters an enticing woman named Alice, and begins a friendship with the boy from New York named Jake.


I have no doubt that there are more sitting somewhere in my Goodreads TBR, but these are definitely the most recent. However, who knows when I’ll actually be able to get around to reading them.

Are any of these on your TBR list? Have you read any of the already published ones?

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Series Starters Recently Added to My TBR

  1. Awesome list, I have a ton of these on my TBR as well! I am definitely the most excited for The Tiger’s Daughter because I am all for two badass women fighting off demons! I am also currently reading The Hundredth Queen and it’s pretty great, lots of interesting magic and world building! :)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

