Birthday Haul: Books I’m Going to Buy Next

It’s my 26th birthday next week (and cue mini freak out where I say OMG repeatedly). It feels like just a few months ago that I turned 25, I mean c’mon! Where does the time go?

At least I have my books, right?

I honestly can’t remember the last time I bought even one book. But when I finally decided on a moving date and realized that I have several books I haven’t read yet, I figured I would take a book buying hiatus for a little while, but since it’s my birthday, I figured why the hell not? Especially with great websites like Book Outlet and Book Depository out there!

The Books

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

handmaids tale

I have a feeling that I’m going to enjoy this book and I really really love this edition’s cover. So I can’t help myself.

Once and For All by Sarah Dessen

once-and-for-all

I’m going to be a little late to this party, but I’ve enjoyed the majority of her books and this sounds like a good one.

Stiletto by Daniel O’Malley

stiletto

As you may know, I loved the first of this series (or maybe it’s just a duology), Rook, and I’ve been dying to get my hands on this one!

Shifting Shadows by Patricia Briggs

shifting shadows

It would be more of the Mercy Thompson world that I love. Plus they’re short stories and those can be fun to read on occasion :)

Bonfire by Krysten Ritter

bonfire

Krysten Ritter is coming out with a book this year! It sounds really interesting and the blurb kind of reminds me a little of Jessica Jones – kind of dark and gritty, but not quite depressing. I haven’t decided if I want to definitely preorder it or not yet, but I just might have to give in.

Artemis by Andy Weir

artemis

I only found out about this book because of an email I received to enter into a giveaway for it. Since it comes out this year, I’m not sure if I’ll want to definitely preorder it or wait until it’s in paperback .. I guess I’ll see.

Book of the Month Club Subscription 

I’ve tried a lot of different book boxes last year for my birthday and while I enjoyed the majority of the books (there are a couple I haven’t gotten around to reading yet), I found that I just didn’t have the room or want/need for any of the extra stuff like Funko Pops. Overall I think these boxes are pretty awesome, but from what I can tell, doing the BOTM might be what I want since it’s mostly all about the books and not the other stuff. While I could do the June box, I’ll probably wait to order the July one.


So, hopefully this won’t end being too expensive, especially if I decide to wait and not preorder the two books.

Anyone know what’s going to be in their next book haul??

5 thoughts on “Birthday Haul: Books I’m Going to Buy Next

  1. I love BOTM, I hope you do too! The best part is that if you don’t like the selections one month, you can just skip it and your subscription just extends by another month – no pressure and you’re more likely to get something you want! – Megan

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

