Book Review: The Good Girl’s Guide to Getting Lost by Rachel Friedman

I absolutely loved this travel memoir! The Good Girl’s Guide to Getting Lost by Rachel Friedman is a perfect read for those who, like me, want to travel everywhere, but sometimes afraid to take that step.

Friedman’s stories about her travels provide a look into what’s like to travel alone, the good along with the not so good. I really liked this about Friedman’s travel memoir because she was truthful about her experiences instead of twisting things or leaving pieces out to make it seem like everything was awesome and super glamorous when traveling isn’t always like that.

good girl guide

One of the reasons why I wanted to read this book and read it when I did was because I recently went through a huge move. While I wasn’t moving to another country, I was moving to a new city in a new state without any friends and only a couple family members to be a support system of sorts. Reading Friedman’s accounts of what she went through in a new place and what her thoughts were during certain experiences all the while reading how she grew into a more comfortable and confident version of herself, was inspiring in a way. At the very least it reminded me that not everyone and everything is scary or out to get me; I might not even be the only person new to this city and state I’ve chosen.

Friedman’s voice was also easy to read and relatable throughout her memoir, with traces of humor and seriousness in all the right places.


While reading her travel memoir made me want to pack up and hop a plane somewhere, even if just for a couple weeks, it also made me confident that I could find a way for this new move to work for me.

Have you done any traveling lately?


Reading Challenge Prompts Satisfied:

PopSugar 2017 Reading Challenge: Book that Involves Travel

One thought on “Book Review: The Good Girl’s Guide to Getting Lost by Rachel Friedman

Leave a Reply

