Book Review: Ink and Bone (The Great Library #1) by Rachel Caine

Never has a book kept me on my toes as much as Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine. I definitely was not expecting as many twists and turns as Caine weaved into this thrilling first book of The Great Library series.

FullSizeRender

Being the reader that I am, I am always quick to want to pick up a book centered around a reader or a library or just the theme of knowledge – Ink and Bone hits all three targets and blends them together really well to create an amazing world. That is definitely one of the things that I really enjoyed about this first installment of the series – the world building. I wasn’t expecting such a different world than the one we live in, but it is really well done and full of realistic elements considering that it starts in the year 2025 and primarily takes place several years later.

I loved Jess Brightwell as a character and the supporting cast of characters were amazing; strong and diverse. It was a nice change liking Jess’s characters since I don’t always connect with male main characters. He’s young, but not naive because of his upbringing in his father’s illegal smuggling business and world. He’s also very loyal and loves knowledge, but he finds himself at odds with the Library, particularly how far it will go to protect its own level of power in the world. He agrees that knowledge should be available, but doesn’t necessarily agree with how the library functions to achieve that. considering some characters see books and knowledge as more valuable than a human life.

To the library, knowledge is power and that primarily comes from books, but it also comes from the library being a central and global power who strives to be the holder of that power. But like any organized group who will do anything to have, take, and keep power of any kind, there are those who rebel. One such group are the Burners, who burn books and the libraries. (Horrifying I know!)

If you haven’t figured it out already, Caine’s writing is really well done, though far from perfect. There were some instances where I didn’t understand the reason behind the structure of a sentence, but for me it didn’t take away from my reading experience at all.

I highly enjoyed this book, with the perfect mixture of fantasy, historical fiction, and some dystopia fiction. This book gave a different, though fantastical, perspective on knowledge and books and the power it gives. This book sucked me in and still hasn’t quite let me go.

Have you had the pleasure of reading this book?


I received this book for free from Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review. No other compensation was received.


2017 Reading Challenge Prompts Satisfied:

PopSugar 2017 Reading Challenge: Book by an author who uses a pseudonym

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Ink and Bone (The Great Library #1) by Rachel Caine

    • That is definitely true! Every chapter had something happening! So far, it’s the same with the second book, but I like it because I never really know what’s going to happen next :)

      Like

Leave a Reply

