Book Review: Every Day by David Levithan

The first thought that comes to mind with David Levithan’s Every Day is holy sh*t. This book ended up not being what I imagined at all. I can’t remember if I found this book through another book blogger or just through Goodreads, but I bought it as a satisfaction for one of my reading challenge prompts this year (which means I bought it at least a year ago).

FullSizeRender.jpg

While I didn’t really get hooked into the book until about 40%, I’m still glad I got to read it. I love the concept of this story where very different lives are lived, even if just for a day. The main character, who goes simply by A, has lived this kind of life since he can remember. A has no idea why this happens to them, but they always avoid making any big changes in someone else’s life. Until Rhiannon. Until he wakes up as Rhiannon’s boyfriend Justin, where A breaks his/her own rules and does something that Justin probably wouldn’t have done.

Screen Shot 2017-09-08 at 9.11.28 AM

What didn’t take long for me to love is David Levithan’s writing.

“This is what love does: It makes you want to rewrite the world. It makes you want to choose the characters, build the scenery, guide the plot. The person you love sits across from you, and you want to do everything in your power to make it possible, endlessly possible. And when it’s just the two of you, alone in a room, you can pretend that this is how it is, this is how it will be.”

I don’t know if poetic does it justice. I love when I read a book that is filled with beautiful writing; especially when it has quotes that are worth remembering.

“There will always be more questions. Every answer leads to more questions. The only way to survive is to let some of them go.”

One theme that I took away from this story as a whole is that loving someone and being kind to someone regardless of who they are, their gender, etc is one of the most important perspectives you can have. I love how Levithan portrays this in Every Day.

I have to say that I am really glad to have read this book, especially with all the different opinions constantly being shouted, especially in the US. Another good reminder to be kind to everyone. The only thing that I sucked about this book was the ending, even if I did understand it.

What was your take on this book? 


Reading Challenge Prompts Satisfied:

Sorry, I’m Booked 2017 Reading Challenge: LGBT Book

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Every Day by David Levithan

Leave a Reply

