Brookies

Brookies are the perfect child of a chocolate chip cookie and brownie. It’s heaven. And delicious. Especially with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream.

I can never say no to a cookie or a brownie which makes a brookie a total kryptonite for me. But that’s okay, because like I said, total heaven in your mouth.

Snapseed 2

It was surprisingly difficult to find a good recipe to try out even though I could have paired my favorite brownie recipe with my favorite cookie recipe, but I wanted to try someone else’s recipe who specifically made a brookie recipe.

This recipe that I finally found is Chocolate Chip Cookie Brownies from Lyndsay at Pinch of Yum. Spoiler alert: her food blog is aptly named (although, really it should be called oodles and oodles of yum). So a big thank you to Lyndsay for sharing such a great recipe!

The Ingredients

  • 1 stick salted butter (1/2 cup, very soft)
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar, packed
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 cup + 2 tablespoons flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 18.9 ounce brownie mix – I cannot remember for the life of me which brand I used
  • (eggs, oil, and water for brownie mix)

Directions

  1. With an electric mixer, cream butter and sugars in a small mixing bowl.
  2. In same bowl, add vanilla and egg; cream again until smooth.
  3. Then add the flour, baking soda, and salt. Stir gently until incorporated.
  4. Stir in chocolate chips. Store in refrigerator until ready to use.
  5. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  6. Prepare brownie batter as directed. Pour batter into a glass 8×8 or 9×9 baking dish. As you can see in my pictures, I used a very square pan, though I’m not of it’s size.
  7. Scatter pieces of cookie dough over the top of the brownie batter.
  8. Press gently on the dough just until it starts to sink down into the batter a little bit.
  9. Bake for 35-40 minutes (35 for gooey, 40 or more for fully baked), covering with foil if you need to keep the cookies from getting too brown on top. I did not need to use foil; I probably baked them for 35-36 minutes and they came perfect
  10. Let stand for 15-20 minutes and cut into pieces for serving.

Snapseed

Obviously I am not a food photographer, but in any case, please trust me when I say this recipe is worth it!

 

 

5 thoughts on “Brookies

Leave a comment