Monthly Wrap-Up | February 2024 + Reading List | March 2024

Happy March! Spring is just around the corner, which in my neck of the woods means possible more snow but with slightly warmer days. Based on how dry this winter has been so far, I’m thinking we’re going to get a lot of snow over the next two months.

Which might mean more snuggle up and read days! Which I definitely need considering February was a terrible reading month for me. Three of the books took me about 5 days to finish, a third took me a whopping 14 days to finish, and the nonfiction took about a month to read.

What I Read

  • House of Flame and Shadow (Crescent City #3) by Sarah J. Maas
  • The City We Became (Great Cities #1) by N.K. Jemisin
  • The Atlas Complex (The Atlas #3) by Olivie Blake
  • The Catch (The Influencer #3) by Amy Lea
  • Life in Five Senses: How Exploring the Senses Got Me Out of My Head and Into the World by Gretchen Rubin

Favorite: The City We Became is the only one I thoroughly enjoyed. I liked the unique concept and enjoyed all the characters. My only thing with Jemisin is that she writes such long chapters, which doesn’t always work for a nighttime reader haha.

Least Favorite: While all the books were a little underwhelming in some way, The Atlas Complex is definitely the top least favorite here. It took me 2 weeks to finish and the whole time I was thinking how tedious of a read it was. At the end she writes a note explaining where her inspiration came from and the whole series makes sense when I read it. However, I found that she was trying too hard to make everything complex and intelligent sounding to where every line felt like it was one-liner which significantly lessened the impact of her major thoughts/ideas. I think if she were able to trim this down to a duology, it would have been way better and more impactful. I would also say that if you’re going hoping for a dark academia fantasy, that is not what the series is; it’s much more a character study that extends to the whole of humanity.

Reading Challenges

  • Beat the Backlist: 1
  • Mount TBR: 0
  • ARCs Challenge: 0

What I Hope to Read

Currently reading: The Catch by Amy Lea and Life in Five Senses by Gretchen Rubin (still).

  • City of Stardust by Georgia Summers
  • A Flame in the North by Lilith Saintcrow
  • The World We Make N. K. Jemisin
  • Fathomfolk by Eliza Chan
  • The Mystery Writer by Sulari Gentill
  • Floating Hotel by Grace Curtis

Most of these are all current library holds that will come through around the time the books are published. Which is interesting since I’m getting a little burnt out on fantasy so I might change some of the holds I have to just wait to read them later.

HOW WAS YOUR February READING month? WHAT DO YOU HOPE TO READ IN March?

4 thoughts on “Monthly Wrap-Up | February 2024 + Reading List | March 2024

  1. I’ve been reading the Broken Earth series by Jemisin and I definitely agree that her chapters are incredibly long. makes it harder to read the book for me too.
    Anyway, hope you have a better reading month!

    Liked by 1 person

      • I think the first book was really good even though I struggled to concentrate. The second book was such a drag because they introduced so many new things and new characters. It wasn’t until i got through half of it that I started loving it. You just reminded me I need to get to book three before I forget everything, haha.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment