Looking Forward: Goals, Resolutions, and My Horoscope

It’s a week into the New Year and like many people, I’m looking ahead and trying to figure out what goals and resolution are achievable for myself. A couple years ago, I learned that it’s easier and more achievable to give yourself goals rather than resolutions in the new year because resolutions tend to have a do or die feel to them; goals seem a little more malleable.

While I definitely still believe that, I plan on having at least one resolution (though I might leave the wording a little vague).

My 2019 Resolutions

  • Save as much money as possible by the end of the year
  • Start researching buying a house

That’s really all I have for resolutions. My goals will be a little more specific.

My 2019 Goals

  • Knock at least one thing (though more would be better) off my 30 Before 30 list
  • Start a gratitude journal
  • Aim for one yoga class a week
  • Eat healthier (original, I know) – specifically more protein, more veggies, more fruit
  • Switch to decaf tea
  • Aim for more water throughout my day
  • Read at least half of my owned yet unread books
  • Be better about blogging – I’m not entirely sure what this means yet; I just know that I’m really behind on posts that I want to write, which made me realize that I need to figure when my ‘writing’ time is
  • Aim to meal prep at least once a month (with the hope that it would be more)
  • Aim to do some kind of strength training at least once a week – even if it’s just sit-ups and push-ups
  • Aim to read at least 10 of the books from my Waterstones 50 Reading Challenge

My 2019 Gemini Horoscope

If you’re familiar with my blog, then you’ll know that I like to look at my horoscope once in awhile – usually when I’m hoping to read something affirming though mostly I read them randomly.

One of my favorite horoscopes to get is from the retail brand LOFT. I love the way the horoscopes are written; pieces left vague for personal interpretation while sometimes sounding specific. I decided to just copy what was written for Gemini for the whole year of 2019; happily they broke down the yearly into sections like money and relationships.

Gemini Yearly

2019 could be your best year in the last twelve, Gemini. You’re getting love-bombed by Jupiter, the planet of luck and expansion – and the good vibes last all the way through December. With this big-hearted planet in your opposite sign for most of the year, partnerships are highlighted and totally blessed. What’s even more incredible is that this applies to both personal and professional one-on-one relationships, so you don’t even have to choose between business and pleasure – you can and should have both. Money is a big issue over the next few years, thanks to a new eclipse series that takes place until midway through 2020. Your debt-to-income ratio will be shifted by the stars – in the direction of your best karma in years. Your ruler, Mercury, makes a rare transit across the Sun on November 11 – mark this day on your calendar as one of profound emotional significance. This event is so rare that it won’t happen again until 2039. Note that your ruler will go retrograde in March, July and November, so prep accordingly. You know the drill: back up your data, buy extra batteries and grab an extra charger, even if the one you have seems fine – forewarned is forearmed.

Gemini – Love

Love is where it’s at for you this year, Gemini. With super auspicious Jupiter in Sagittarius for the first time in twelve years, your relationships are full of sweetness and light through November. If you’ve been single for a while and want a long-term partner, the stars will support you all the way. Your absolute best moments for romance are January 22 and November 24 – both are lovely days for getting hitched, engaged or going on a first date.

Gemini – Career/ Money

Business partnerships are heavily favored this year, Gemini, as are all kinds of contracts that bring you into a working relationship with someone who you value and trust. You might renegotiate the terms of your contract with your employer, but just make sure to avoid Mercury Retrograde phases when you sign (see below for dates). With eclipses in Cancer and Capricorn in the winter and summer, set intentions for clearing your debt and raising your income.

Gemini – Health/Wellness

Consider an amped up anti-stress regimen whenever your ruler, Mercury, goes retrograde this year – you feel these phases more than any other sign (other than Virgos). Between March 5 and March 28, July 7 to July 31, and October 31 to November 20, get more than enough sleep, drink loads of green juice, and yes – get yourself to yoga at least twice a week. Note that you might be a bit run down near the Full Moon on May 18.


Reading this horoscope makes me even more excited to see what happens in 2019! I know that things happening depends on me and me alone and what decisions I decided to make. However, this horoscope affirms things I’ve already been thinking about.

I’ve been dating since last summer and feel really good about the possibilities this year (especially with the holidays over). While visiting my parents for Christmas, I opened up the conversation about me moving into a place by myself, which led to a conversation with my mom about my parents helping me to buy a place rather than me potentially wasting money on rent. I’ve also been doing what I can to work harder and make myself more visible so that I can potentially move into a position or at the very least, get a better raise this year. As for my health and wellness, I’ve brainstorming and buying tools to help me be better this year: I bought an acupressure mat, I found a yoga studio that I really like, and I’m hoping to get a good start with some of the related goals I stated above.

What are some goals or resolutions or changes that you’re excited to have/ make for 2019?

3 thoughts on “Looking Forward: Goals, Resolutions, and My Horoscope

Leave a comment