Books I Added to My TBR Based on The Storygraph’s Recommendation

I first heard of The Storygraph maybe three weeks ago when Kristin at Kristin Kraves Books posted about Goodreads Alternatives. While I’ve been a member of Goodreads for eight years (um, wow!), I always found it odd that no other sites really popped up and gained popularity like Goodreads has. I’m also unsure how I feel about Amazon owning them now.

Since reading that post, I was really excited to see what these other sites could offer me as a reader and blogger. I’m currently holding off on joining Book Sloth only because I can’t handle adding too many more books to my TBR or my head could explode.

My data upload was complete last week and so I recently went through the site and the list of recommended books. I will say that I really liked how the sign up is set up for Storygraph and I can see why so many of the books on the list were chosen. While I would ordinarily give almost every one a shot, I decided to be selective on new TBR additions. Let’s check out which books I recently added! Titles link to Goodreads.

The Books

Zero Sum Game (Cas Russell #1) by S.L. Huang

Cas Russell is good at math. Scary good. The vector calculus blazing through her head lets her smash through armed men twice her size and dodge every bullet in a gunfight, and she’ll take any job for the right price.

As far as Cas knows, she’s the only person around with a superpower…until she discovers someone with a power even more dangerous than her own. Someone who can reach directly into people’s minds and twist their brains into Moebius strips. Someone intent on becoming the world’s puppet master.

Cas should run, like she usually does, but for once she’s involved. There’s only one problem … She doesn’t know which of her thoughts are her own anymore.

Rosewater (The Wormwood Trilogy #1) by Tade Thompson

Tade Thompson’s Rosewater is the start of an award-winning, cutting edge trilogy set in Nigeria, by one of science fiction’s most engaging new voices.

Rosewater is a town on the edge. A community formed around the edges of a mysterious alien biodome, its residents comprise the hopeful, the hungry and the helpless—people eager for a glimpse inside the dome or a taste of its rumored healing powers.

Kaaro is a government agent with a criminal past. He has seen inside the biodome, and doesn’t care to again—but when something begins killing off others like himself, Kaaro must defy his masters to search for an answer, facing his dark history and coming to a realization about a horrifying future. 

Make Me No Grave by Hayley Stone

Almena Guillory, better known as the Grizzly Queen of the West, has done plenty to warrant the noose, but U.S. Marshal Apostle Richardson enforces the law, he doesn’t decide it. When a posse tries to lynch Almena ahead of her trial, Apostle refuses their form of expedited justice—and receives a bullet for his trouble. Almena spares him through the use of dangerous flesh magic but escapes soon after saving him.

Weeks later, Apostle fears the outlaw queen has returned to her old ways when she’s spotted terrorizing Kansas with a new gang in tow. When cornered, however, Almena makes a convincing case for her innocence and proposes a plan to take the real bandits down.

Working with a known killer opens Apostle up to all sorts of trouble, not the least being his own growing attraction toward the roguish woman. Turning Almena away from vengeance may be out of the question, but if he doesn’t try, she’ll wind up right where the law wants her: at the end of a rope.

And if Apostle isn’t careful, he’ll end up joining her.

The City We Became (Great Cities #1) by N.K. Jemisin

Every city has a soul. Some are as ancient as myths, and others are as new and destructive as children. New York City? She’s got five.

But every city also has a dark side. A roiling, ancient evil stirs beneath the earth, threatening to destroy the city and her five protectors unless they can come together and stop it once and for all.

Empire of Sand (The Books of Ambha #1) by Tasha Suri2

The Amrithi are outcasts; nomads descended of desert spirits, they are coveted and persecuted throughout the Empire for the power in their blood. Mehr is the illegitimate daughter of an imperial governor and an exiled Amrithi mother she can barely remember, but whose face and magic she has inherited.

When Mehr’s power comes to the attention of the Emperor’s most feared mystics, she must use every ounce of will, subtlety, and power she possesses to resist their cruel agenda.

Should she fail, the gods themselves may awaken seeking vengeance…

Magic for Liars by Sarah Gailey

Ivy Gamble has never wanted to be magic. She is perfectly happy with her life. She has an almost-sustainable career as a private investigator, and an empty apartment, and a slight drinking problem. It’s a great life and she doesn’t wish she was like her estranged sister, the magically gifted professor Tabitha.

But when Ivy is hired to investigate the gruesome murder of a faculty member at Tabitha’s private academy, the stalwart detective starts to lose herself in the case, the life she could have had, and the answer to the mystery that seems just out of her reach.

Kingdom of Souls (Kingdom of Souls #1) by Rena Barron

Magic has a price—if you’re willing to pay.

Born into a family of powerful witchdoctors, Arrah yearns for magic of her own. But each year she fails to call forth her ancestral powers, while her ambitious mother watches with growing disapproval.

There’s only one thing Arrah hasn’t tried, a deadly last resort: trading years of her own life for scraps of magic. Until the Kingdom’s children begin to disappear, and Arrah is desperate to find the culprit.

She uncovers something worse. The long-imprisoned Demon King is stirring. And if he rises, his hunger for souls will bring the world to its knees… unless Arrah pays the price for the magic to stop him.

The Wolf of Oren-Yaro (Chronicles of the Bitch Queen #1) by K.S. Villoso

“I murdered a man and made my husband leave the night before they crowned me.”

Born under the crumbling towers of Oren-yaro, Queen Talyien was the shining jewel and legacy of the bloody War of the Wolves that nearly tore her nation apart. Her upcoming marriage to the son of her father’s rival heralds peaceful days to come.

But his sudden departure before their reign begins fractures the kingdom beyond repair.

Years later, Talyien receives a message, urging her to attend a meeting across the sea. It’s meant to be an effort at reconciliation, but an assassination attempt leaves the queen stranded and desperate to survive in a dangerous land. With no idea who she can trust, she’s on her own as she struggles to fight her way home.

The Empress of Salt and Fortune (The Singing Hills Cycle #1) by Nghi Vo

With the heart of an Atwood tale and the visuals of a classic Asian period drama The Empress of Salt and Fortune is a tightly and lushly written narrative about empire, storytelling, and the anger of women.

A young royal from the far north is sent south for a political marriage. Alone and sometimes reviled, she has only her servants on her side. This evocative debut chronicles her rise to power through the eyes of her handmaiden, at once feminist high fantasy and a thrilling indictment of monarchy.


Obviously I’m feeling a fantasy mood will be with me for foreseeable future. I’ve seen a couple of these books or authors on other blogs, but a few of these are completely new to me. I look forward to picking them up!

Have you read any of these books or authors? What were your thoughts? Any sound interesting enough to add to your own TBR? Let me know in a comment, I would love to hear!

4 thoughts on “Books I Added to My TBR Based on The Storygraph’s Recommendation

  1. I’m glad you’re having a nice time with The StoryGraph!! I have a few mixed feelings, and feel that their recs weren’t very interesting to me… but I think I’m an outlier, because I hear lots of people are enjoying it 🙂 I’d love to see how you get along with it! I definitely need to check out Kristin’s post.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This sounds cool! I haven’t joined anything besides Goodreads even though I also hate that Amazon owns it because 1) it seems like work and 2) everyone else is on GR. (Until now when that might be changing a little?) I do think it’s interesting most of the recs you got are things I haven’t heard of, which is great!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I haven’t played around with their beta site a lot yet, but I think’s promising. I just can’t keep up with I’m currently reading with two sites. Yes, I was excited to see some recs that actually sound interesting too! GR gives me a lot of the same over and over.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment